Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Cross Borders

The recent Executive Order by President Trump attempting to ban temporarily the citizens of seven countries (Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen) from entering the United States is having significant consequences within the country and around the world. The Order poses a threat to the health and vitality of science, barring students and scientists from these countries from traveling to the United States to study or to attend conferences. In preventing those members of the international scientific community from traveling beyond U.S. borders without guaranteed safe return, the Executive Order demeans them; in so doing, it demeans us all. Universities and research communities are especially impacted, as major universities have students and often faculty holding passports from one of these seven countries.